Great Cloth Diaper Change 2011

April 23 is the Great Cloth Diaper Change 2011… an effort to set a Guinness record for simultaneous diaper changes around the world and to raise awareness about cloth diapering. By raise awareness, I mean create an outlet to espouse the benefits, both for the health of our children and the planet. It’s also a way to squelch that “stigma” about the women who choose cloth diapers are. After all, most people would never guess that I, former figure competitor, fitness trainer, and general all-around “Rosie the Riveter” liberated woman, chose cloth. I also chose to breast feed my son to 20 months, a rarity in this region, and perhaps, this decade in general. I can do more pull-ups than most men, manage the finances and investments, AND I’m still not too good to get out the diaper sprayer. I guess what I’m saying is I don’t fit the mold of what most people expect when they hear cloth diapering. This usually conjures up images of the “Earth Mother” type, replete with long, flowing skirt, Birkenstocks, and the like. Yeah, definitely not me. I’m more “Carrie Bradshaw” (Sex in the City) meets “Jillian Michaels” (Biggest Loser trainer). 

Anyhow, you can check for the event nearest you or organize your own! See the Real Diaper Industry (RDI) website for details: http://greatclothdiaperchange.com. I will be at the Savannah, GA location, hosted by Just For Baby & More. Register to save your spot at

Are you a mom-to-be or just curious about making the conversion and have questions about cloth? Don’t hesitate to contact me; I’m always happy to share my experiences.

About practicalmomma

Wife. Mother. Personal trainer. Coupon clipper.Tree hugger. I go by many monikers, but it all boils down to living well, living healthy, living mindfully, and staying within our budget. A San Diego native transplanted to the Southeast, trying to stay true to my convictions. Changing diapers, changing minds, and maybe, someday, the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

