Kanga Wet Bag

You may find this difficult to believe, but Practicalmomma has been using a diaper pail meant for disposable diapers to store her son’s dirties… for the past 2 years. Well, if you’ve ever tried that, you know why it’s not a good idea. Yes, for 2 years I have been fighting to get the diapers to smoosh down in there and faithfully toting it outside to clean regularly. Why? We received it as a baby shower gift, and having zero experience with cloth diapers prior, I couldn’t really comprehend why it wouldn’t work.

About two months into the struggle, I did briefly look into purchasing an actual cloth diaper pail, but those I found were expensive trash cans with hinged lids. Practicalmomma surmised that the odor that would escape each time it opened might knock her to the ground. Oh, I owned two wet bags, but they were for “travel.” This meant I stuck one in my diaper bag when we were out-and-about.
About a month ago, Practicalmomma’s interest in adding to her stash revitalized, I stumbled upon product descriptions of a hanging wet bag. Based on the photos, it piqued my interest and I looked into it further… A large waterproof bag that could hang from a hook or a doorknob, with a zippered closure? Why, wouldn’t that hold all the dirties without wrestling them in AND contain the stink? How… practical! Sold! Now which one to pick…
 

I bought a Kanga hanging diaper pail– the design and size appealed to me. The colors and prints were pretty great too, since some brands seem to have far more “girly” prints– I’m all about the floral patterned diaper bag (because I’m carrying it), but if something is going to be hanging in my son’s room, it shouldn’t look like Nana’s satchel (my MIL has been known to carry the World’s Largest Purses) or an oversized purse. I chose the “Ladder 6” design, which boasts red fire engines on a light blue background.
 

Contstruction: ***** Fantastic. Practicalmomma has easily fit a large mish-mash of inserts, covers, and pockets in this bag all at once. Kanga claims that it can fit up to 12 dirty dipes (presumably AIOs?) and I’d say that 10 would be comfortable, 12 if you push. I have not tried to fill it to capacity with AI2s, but it has held up to 10 dirty inserts and 3 covers without issue. The top opens up nice and wide and I love the half-circle design. The fabric is soft and flexible, it launders amazingly well, and since the top can be opened almost 360, it hang-dries really fast.
 

Performance: ***** Amazing. Not only has this held all our wet and soiled stuff, containing smells inside, but it’s super flexible. You can actually fill this bag with water and turn it upside down– so long as you’re not directing the water right over the zipper, it holds everything. I’m not sure why or how you’d end up with that much liquid in your bag, but practicalmomma decided to try this, *just because.* It seems awfully durable, but Kanga actually states that it’s biodegradable… crazy, huh?

Overall: ***** Practicalmomma really needs another wet bag, for when this one is in the wash. I’d like to try another brand, but based on this product’s performance and price point (similar sizes by other manufacturers sell for much more), I may just end up with another in a different print.

About practicalmomma

Wife. Mother. Personal trainer. Coupon clipper.Tree hugger. I go by many monikers, but it all boils down to living well, living healthy, living mindfully, and staying within our budget. A San Diego native transplanted to the Southeast, trying to stay true to my convictions. Changing diapers, changing minds, and maybe, someday, the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kanga Wet Bag

  1. Lyle says:

    I have 2 with a 3rd on the way. They dry quickly and work wonderfully. I’ve also done the “filling with water” test. between the bag in LO’s room and the one hanging in the bathroom, I do a load of laundry when they’re both about 75% full to do one large load of diapers. One VERY full bag (they’re just a tad stretchy) is a medium load of diapers!

Leave a Reply

