Off the face of the Earth…

Off the face of the Earth, that’s where I fell. I know.

Why, you ask? Well, our family made the decision that after eight years of service, my husband would separate from the military. Naturally, I launched into full-scale planning and panic mode. It’s just my way.

We looked at our options and knew that we’d have to move in order to make it happen, so it was off to urban New Jersey, where hubby was offered a position. Fear of the unknown spurred me into action—we would have a mortgage on our house in South Carolina to continue paying, plus rent in our new location. I went from homemaker and my “job” of personal trainer/aerobics instructor of less than 12 hours a week, to a full-time office manager. Jibbers went to childcare. We explored some new places, met some new people, and discovered living in a very urbanized area just wasn’t for us (mind you, San Diego is plenty urban, but not like New York!). We survived, but we weren’t very happy.

After two years and two very devastating hurricanes– Irene, then Sandy– we took another chance and attempted to get back down South. There’s a whole lot that transpired between that point and now, but that brings us to where we are today…

We made it! We bought another house here in Tennessee (although we still have our first home in SC as well), Jibbers is finishing Kindergarten, age six going on sixteen, and we are expecting a baby girl in July! As we finally feel “settled” again and I wasn’t getting any younger, we finally decided the time was right– or as right as it was going to get– to add #2 to our family!

We are, of course, ridiculously excited. Even Jibbers, once he got over the fact that it wasn’t going to be a brother. Although I’m still working in a full-time marketing position at the moment, I will be switching to part-time in just a few weeks. By June, I will leave this job entirely, at least for now. As such, I plan to take up my blog again to keep my sanity and see where it may lead.

I’ve got a whole bunch of new baby gear to try out on this one, plus sports and adventures with the school-ager to boot! Tag along with me as I journey into motherhood yet again…!

About practicalmomma

Wife. Mother. Personal trainer. Coupon clipper.Tree hugger. I go by many monikers, but it all boils down to living well, living healthy, living mindfully, and staying within our budget. A San Diego native transplanted to the Southeast, trying to stay true to my convictions. Changing diapers, changing minds, and maybe, someday, the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

